CMS board swears in five new members

Five new members joined the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education on Tuesday, the result of last month’s school board elections.

The new members are: Melissa Easley of District 1, Gregory “Dee” Rankin of District 3, Stephanie Sneed of District 4, Lisa Cline of District 5 and Summer Nunn of District 6.

They join incumbent Thelma Byers-Bailey of District 2 and the board’s at-large members, Elyse Dashew, Jennifer De La Jara and Lenora Shipp.

Byers-Bailey was the only incumbent to win re-election, and the at-large seats were not on the ballot this year.

Dashew was unanimously re-elected as board chair. Sneed was unanimously voted in as vice chair, replacing Byers-Bailey, who told QCity Metro she had no desire to retain that leadership position.

CMS, one of the nation’s largest school districts, has faced major challenges in recent years, including low-performing schools, an academic achievement gap and lack of stability in the superintendent position.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × five =